Holiday Whatnot

I’ve seen people do this before and always meant to try it myself.  How cool do Christmas lights look all blurred out?!

BTW, so sad Christmas lights go away after the New Year.  They help me chipper up through the long dark winter.  I went to Colorado once in January/February and saw a mountain neighborhood where everyone had kept their lights on.  Why not people?  Instead I just live for days like today.  60 plus degrees in January.  Take it when I can get it!

The ornaments we made from the last post.

Gingerbread men.

Photo credit: Hubby Jim

“Tri County Baking Spree” Credit: Hubby Jim

I made a pumpkin bread (eh) and a batch of ready-made sugar cookies the whole holiday but Jim.  Oh Jim.  Let’s see here.  Gingerbread, peanut butter oat cookies, cinnamon babka(holy cow, best holiday treat EVER), the aforementioned mince pies, maple walnut bread, oat pancakes, pizza crust and I’m sure I’m missing something else.  No really, I’m pretty sure.  You knocked it out of the park this year baby!

Oh, I have to give myself credit for making a fourth stocking to round out our set.  I remember only making three back when our first was a baby, being superstitious and not wanting to presume anything by making a fourth, even though it would have been a heck of a lot easier to get them all done at once.  Nice to be able to complete the job!  Too bad I didn’t take a picture of it before everything got put away in the attic.  Aah, just use your imagination people.

And here, our newest winter tradition.  We turned our redbud into a winter solstice tree for the birds(who am I kidding? I’m sure the squirrels ripped that crap down before any birds saw it, but it’s the thought that counts).  You know the drill.  A little peanut butter or shortening on a pine cone and roll them in bird seed.  And we tied some orange slices up too.  I tried to get out and take a shot of the tree during the morning when the light was good and the dang things weren’t all ripped down, but it was glaring sun by the time I got around to it and the shots were just ok.  I’ll aim for it next year : )

So the moral of this holiday season as far as productivity/crafting/baking/photography?  I’m going to borrow a phrase from cousin Shellie who has four kids, one of whom is also a baby.  “Lower your expectations.”  But you know, we had a fun holiday and enjoyed the kids and the family and ate like sumo wrestlers.  It was pretty great : )

Hope yours was great too!

~tracee

This entry was posted in Cooking, Fail, Food, Holidays, Photography, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

